One of Maryborough’s premier annual sporting events.

The 2016 Vision Super Central Goldfields Reverse Triathlon has produced one of the most exciting races in the event’s 17 year history with the strongest field of elite triathletes ever assembled to contest Central Victoria’s most prestigious triathlon on the Triathlon Victoria calendar.

The event attracted outstanding representation from right across regional Victoria and Melbourne.

The Open Male Long Course Category boasted four past champions, so competition for podium positions was always going to be exciting. Add to that past podium finisher Dayne Pearce (Ballarat) and exciting triathlete Kyle Lierich, and the stage was set for an enthralling battle.

In customary style Jamie Huggett set a blistering pace on the run leg making a break on the outstanding field of David Meade (2007-2009 champion), Ben Huggett (2011 champion), Kyle Lierich, Dayne Pearce, and Lauchlan Stewart (2013 champion).

All triathletes enjoyed the relatively calm weather conditions on the cycle leg as well, and as such were able to maintain strong speeds for the 23km course.  It was Jamie Huggett who maintained his lead on the chase group, putting himself into a commanding position moving into the 400m swim leg to complete the event.

Jamie was able to maintain his strong form in the swim as well to pass under the Vision Super Finishing Arch in the outstanding time of 54:06 (the second fastest time for the course ever recorded, just behind past World Duathlon Champion Leon Griffin’s 2010 course record of 53:14).

David Meade proved that he had lost none of his speed since last winning the event in 2009, finishing the event in 2nd place in the strong time 56:21, with Ben Huggett also excelling in all triathlon disciplines to take out 3rd place in 56:39.

In the Open Female Long Course it was Melbourne-based triathlete Grace Thek in her maiden Vision Super Central Goldfields Reverse Triathlon who proved she was a triathlete to watch in the future as she excelled in the run, cycle, and swim legs to post a start to finish new course record in the time of 62:01.

2015 champion Sarah Dobie also enjoyed the course as well finishing the event in 2nd place in a time of 66:54.  NSW triathlete Kerry Morrison also found the course to her liking finishing in 3rd place in 85:31.

Other Age Group winners on the day included:

Micah Poole                       Male LC 15-16                    69:31

Jack Collings                       Male LC 17-19                    63:21

Caitlin Butler                      Female LC 17-19               84:38

Evan Ipsen                          Male LC 20-29                    62:26

Lynda Ettridge                   Female LC 20-29               83:17

Aiden Rich                           Male LC 30-39                    59:30

Lisa Erfurth                         Female LC 30-39               72:13

Jason Sim                            Male LC 40-49                    62:43

Sharon Baker                     Female LC 40-49               74:30

Geoff Macilwain               Male LC 50-59                    69:37

Belinda Mirabella             Female LC 50-59               75:06

Peter Neville                      Male LC 60+                        77:18

Team L. Armstrong          Male LC Team                    64:09

Team Boak                          Mixed LC Team                 69:40

Team Exquisite                 Female LC Team               80:52

Adam Fleming                   Male SC Open                   27:33

Jessica White                     Female SC Open               37:33

Jack Meade                        Male SC 12-14                    32:07

Lilly Cain                               Female SC 12-14               43:20

Jack Beale                           Male SC 15-16                    33:45

Tahlee Vanroosmalen               Female SC 15-16               34:23

Team Reid                           Team SC Open                  34:50


Race Director Martin Mark said after the race on Sunday, “It was great to get such an exciting race today. The fields were the strongest we’ve ever had, and with over 120 participants taking to the course, a new record for the reverse format, and we had many local first timers successfully completed the course as well."

The Maryborough Sports & Leisure Centre was awarded the 2016 Capilano Community Club Cup.  They recorded the highest number of entries from any collective group with employees and members of the centre competing in the event.

Race organisers would like to thank all individuals and groups who assisted with the preparations, conducting, and packing up for the event, and also those residents who abut the race course for their cooperation on the day.  The race was safe for competitors, and this is due in large to the support shown from all these groups and individuals.

Full race results

Privacy and Disclaimer

Site Developed & Hosted by